My Joyful Rainbow

In the Winter of 2012, I went to Islamabad. I went to an ordinary grocery store but somehow, it was enthralling because whenever I go to a new place, I always try to find things I haven’t come across before. I always like to look for different things since it makes the trip interesting and I discover new things. I was looking for something different. Something that wasn’t available in my city of Lahore. I saw this particular product and was extremely excited to find it. No doubt I purchased it straight away.

Purple Cones with Homemade Strawberry and Chocolate Ice-Cream

Purple Cones with Homemade Strawberry and Chocolate Ice-Cream

The reason why I found this specific purchase amazingly satisfying was because I have a specific memory of these when I was little. I went to London in 1997, when I was 7 years old. It was an age at which anyone would find the idea of scooping ice-cream into ready-made cones at home luxurious. I had this certain memory in mind when I saw those cones in that grocery store. I am not ashamed to admit that I hold those same sentiments of excitement and luxury even today. Who doesn’t get excited by ice-cream and colorful cones?

There was an additional benefit of the ice-cream cones I purchased from this store. Unlike the ones I used to gobble up in London, these were colored. Blue, purple and pink. My joyful rainbow. My edible rainbow – and a yummy one at that too!

Leave a Reply

