Creative Writing / Flash Fiction / 1

(Here is, finally, the first post in “Flash Fiction”. I think this and the following piece were written for assignments and not something I wrote in my free time. Either way, I hope they do justice to the genre itself.)

 

Numb

Shadows quivered on the wall as the candle flickered, then fizzled to nothing. The darkness was a deep black…a void that I had entered. The tiny space I was in was transformed into an infinite space, with darkness wherever I turned. The shadows that had formed due to the candlelight were ghosts from the past. Flickering shadows like playful children running around, the darkness provided a respite from the painful memories that had come flooding back into my mind. Darkness seeped into my head and clouded my mind. Made it dark….and numb.

Leave a Reply

