Embarrassing Myself Again!

Image

I am supremely talented when it comes to embarrassing myself. I mean, I don’t even need to leave my room for it.

So, the other day, I received my debit card from the bank and I had to activate it. I was extremely relieved that I wouldn’t have to talk to a human being since it was a UAN. I called and followed the directions of the robot lady until she started connecting me to a branch officer. Now I thought something was wrong which was why I was being transferred to a human being. So I tried twice and then gave up, thinking I’d try again the next day.

Told my dad and he told me to try again. Which I did and to my horror, I had to converse with a human being. I mean, it wasn’t going to be that easy getting my card activated. Is it even possible to just have it activated automatically? And don’t get me wrong. I’m not a misanthrope. It’s just that talking to strangers is highly stressful for me, even when it involves talking to them over the phone.

Man: Hello. Welcome to HBL. How can I help you?

Me: Hi. I need to activate my debit card.

Man: Okay. Could I please have your name?

Me: Sorry?

(I couldn’t hear him very well and I was shoving my phone into my ear. Couldn’t have done it harder)

Man: Your name, please?

Me: …………

Man (probably thinking I had died…): Can I have your name, please?

Me (…which I had by now, from embarrassment): Oh sorry. My name. Yes. Mehak.

Okay, so before you think I’m a few brain cells short of the average human being, let me tell you. He had a nasal-y voice and it usually is very hard to understand a fast, nasal-y voice on a mobile phone. I don’t think I can stress enough on how embarrassed I was and I was extremely nervous the entire time. When I shut the phone and finally let out a sigh of relief, I realized I was shaking. That’s how bad it is for me. Talking to people on the phone and then embarrassing myself beyond the point of return.

I can only say I was more than relieved that I didn’t make any more mistakes through the remaining call and it all came to an end respectfully.

Relatively, at least.

Never again, though.

Disclaimer: The people depicted in the image by no means resemble actual human beings.

3 thoughts on “Embarrassing Myself Again!

Leave a Reply

