Breakfast Basics

I was SO hungry when I woke up today so I actually made the effort (with some help from my mum) to make something. It’s nothing too fancy but it required some effort (basically defrosting, slicing and frying the sausages, which was an effort for me :p). I normally just skip breakfast or grab something that’s already there. Like an apple or a Pop Tart. But today we made these.

photo (6)

Basically, all you have to do is take some burger buns and slice them. The ones I used were pre-sliced. Once that is done, thinly spread some butter on them. I used around 7 mini sausages (3-4 inches in length) for 4 buns (8 pieces). I sliced those and fried them up until they were slightly brown. Meanwhile, my mum sliced up some capsicum (I’m not sure of the amount but I’m sure you can use as much or as little as you like). Then, we sprinkled the sausage on the buttered buns and then added the capsicum.

photo   photo (2)

After that, my mum covered the entire thing with grated cheese (a mixture of cheddar and mozarella).

Popped them under the grill until the cheese melted and became golden and crisp. This is what they looked like.

photo (5)   photo (3)

Since I’ve seen way too many food shows and since I was REALLY hungry, I had to add a fried egg to this. I’m not a huge fan of fried egg but my imagination ran wild and I certainly couldn’t ignore the call of the egg, especially since I was starving. The more, the merrier, right? (This certainly applies to food too, in case you’re wondering)

I fried the egg with some butter (influence of watching too many food shows) and used the technique of pouring some water into the pan and slamming a lid onto it to get an even coat of white on the yolk (again taken from food shows). Hey, I like to feel chefy at times.

photo (8)

And this is what I ate. It reminds me of the British dish the name of which I have absolutely forgotten. And before you say it, I know. That’s an absolute disgrace. But it’s just slipped and I can’t recall the name. The one that has a muffin with some ham and a fried egg, finished off with hollandaise sauce. Anyway, I imagine it tastes something like what I made. Substitute the cheese for the sauce and I think that’s it. BUT it tasted really good. And I have to admit that this is pretty breakfast-y but I had it mid-, late-afternoon. I know I said I had this “when I woke up” but, well, I woke up pretty late today so it was partial breakfast for me. :p

I hope you enjoyed this and I know this is a very basic food item that you will have tried in some form or the other, but if you haven’t, I hope you do. I would love to hear about it!

2 thoughts on “Breakfast Basics

Leave a Reply

